Top 5 Wednesday: April 18, 2018

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by GingerReadsLainey and managed by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes on Goodreads. Each week features a new prompt in which you are suppose to talk about the top 5 books that you relate to the prompt. This week the topic is: Ideal Mash-Ups – – You know those comp titles they list in synopses that read something like “perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Game of Thrones”! What would be some of your favorite mash ups, that would make you pick up a book?

To make it easier on myself, given that this is a quite a daunting topic to tackle and because it can be interpreted in a multitude of ways, I am going to list five books that are a mix of two different books, movies, tv shows, or video games that I think deserve some love.

So, without further adieu, I present my contribution to the top 5 discussion for the week of April 18, 2018.

_ _ _

12954620Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms #1) by Morgan Rhodes

Publisher: Razorbill (December 11, 2012)

Print Length: 412 pages

A mix of: Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1) by George R.R. Martin and A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic #1) by V.E. Schwab

Murder, mayhem, and a killer magic system. That is what is in store for you if you chose to pick up the ‘Falling Kingdoms’ series by Morgan Rhodes. And yet, even with its own unique place in YA epic fantasies, I do feel that it is heavily influenced by the adult fantasy novels Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1) and A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic #1). The reason why I feel Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms #1) is influenced by Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1) is because it features multiple PoV’s, focuses heavily on the politics of the realms, and because no one is safe from the reaper. Furthermore, Rhodes’ use of a complicated magic system, in Elementia, reminded me heavily of the Antari ability created by Schwab in A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic #1).

*To read my review of Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms #1), click here*

a-great-and-terrible-beauty-9781847387165_hrGreat and Terrible Beauty, A (Gemma Doyle #1) by Libba Bray

Publisher: Simon and Schuster (December 9, 2003)

Print Length: 403 pages

A mix of: The ‘Harry Potter’ series by J.K. Rowling and Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

Everyone loves a good magical boarding school story. Hence why I think A Great and Terrible Beauty (Gemma Doyle #1) is mixed with a touch of the ‘Harry Potter’ series by J.K. Rowling. And yet, I will argue that the novel is equally mixed with another classic novel, Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen. Besides the historical setting of Austen’s satirical Gothic novel,  all the novels mentioned focus on various stages of innocence and what it means to grow up. While no one dies in Northanger Abbey, the ‘Harry Potter’ series more than makes up for that fact, leading me to conclude that A Great And Terrible Beauty (Gemma Doyle) is what you would get if you mixed the two.

32075671

Hate U Give, The by Angie Thomas

Publisher: Blazer + Bray (February 28, 2017)

Print Length: 464 pages

A mix of: The Help by Kathryn Stockett and How it Went Down by Kekla Magoon

Dealing with the darker side of young adulthood, Angie Thomas’ The Hate U Give is a poignant story of how a tragic run-in with law reinforcement made a young African American woman have to grapple with familiar obligation, cultural expectation, and activist movements. The reason I think this book is a mix between How it Went Down is because all three works are socially conscious stories dealing with racial tension in the United States. While I would say How it Went Down is more similar to The Hate U Give, given that both deal with how gun violence can be directly correlated to racism, The Help can be compared to both as it deals with the theme of activism, and the repercussions that can arise from exposing injustices based on race. All three are powerful, and I would recommend all three because it shows that there is an issue that still needs to be addressed.

*To read my review of The Hate U Give, click here*

*To read my review of The Help, click here*

23437156Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by Leigh Bardugo 

Publisher: Henry Holt and Company (September 29, 2015)

Print Length: 465 pages

A mix of: The Fellowship of the Ring (The Lord of the Rings #1) by J.R.R. Tolkien and Oceans 11

An unconventional group. An impossible task. Cultivating in a story for the ages. These are the things that lead me to believe that Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by Leigh Bardugo is a mix of the epic adventure fantasy novel, The Fellowship of the Ring (The Lord of the Rings #1) by J.R.R. Tolkien and the Rat Pack American heist film, Oceans 11. Each of these stories hold a special place in my heart, and if you’re on the look out for something that has action, adventure, comedy, crime, and just a hint of the fantastical, check out any of the above.

35297394Wicked Deep, The by Shea Ernshaw

Publisher: Simon Pulse (March 6, 2018)

Print Length: 320 pages

A mix of: Hocus Pocus and Practical Magic

Saying that The Wicked Deep is a mix of Hocus Pocus and Practical Magic was easy, given that that’s how it was being tagged previous to its publication. After devouring the novel, I can wholeheartedly agree with the statement for several reason. First and foremost it is about witches. Second, it hits the nail on the head in regards to the wit that both Hocus Pocus and Practical Magic graced us with during their respective releases. Third, the rights to the YA supernatural story were recently won by Netflix, so we can all officially add it to our October rewatch lists. And if that hasn’t convinced you, each of the stories also focus on sisterhood, in some sort of irrational way anyways. So, if you haven’t, pick up The Wicked Deep and be prepared to have a spell put on you.

*To read my review of The Wicked Deep, click here*

*To read my book review of Practical Magic, click here*

_ _ _

And those are my top 5 ideal mashups. Do you have anything that could fill this T5W? Leave it as a comment below and let’s chat about it!

Advertisements

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s