Review: Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms #1) – Morgan Rhodes

With my gravitation to YA fantasy as of late, I figured now would be the best time to start the series toted as the ‘YA version of Game of Thrones.’

Interested to see what I thought of Morgan Rodes’ Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms #1)? Keep on reading to find out my thoughts and opinions.

_ _ _

12954620Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms #1) by Morgan Rhodes

Publisher: Razorbill (December 11, 2012)

Print Length: 412 pages

Audiobook Length: 11 hrs 36 mins

Narrator: Fred Berman

In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It’s the eve of war…. Choose your side

The Review

Falling Kingdoms weaves the story of three neighboring lands within Mytica: devout Limeros, impoverished Paelsia, and opulent Auranos. When a wine merchant’s son is senselessly murdered, four characters must accept the events triggered by the death and adapt to their altered realities.

Rhodes ability to create a cohesive balance between the world, the magic system, and the characters is what makes Fallen Kingdoms shine. Each of the three kingdoms: Limeros, Paelsia, and Auranos, each have both a unique quality for the characters and a specific purpose to the plot that make them vivid examples of high fantasy settings. Likewise, the magic system, in this case Elementia, is thoughtfully developed into four types of magic that can be expressed: earth, air, water, and fire. In this particular story those who possess magic tend to emulate an affinity for only one, but you know because Rhodes specified this, at least one character will be able to wield them all.

Falling Kingdoms follows four principle PoV’s: Cleo, Jonas, Magnus, and Lucia. While I can agree with many who have reviewed the character of Cleo as naive, I believe that Rhodes deliberately did this to throw us off of our new favourite heroine. I felt so bad for her and the secret she had to bare during the duration of Falling Kingdoms and I only hope that she becomes stronger in future novels because of the trials and tribulations she had to go through. I feel like Jonas is either going to stay my least favourite of the four principles or he is going to do a 180 in future novels and completely sweep me off my feet. As of right now the ‘rebel’ isn’t convincing me. I genuinely liked Magnus in the beginning, but after he killed THAT character, he’s got a lot to make up for in my eyes.  And as for Lucia, I felt like she wasn’t given enough page time to really allow me to develop an opinion on her character. Hopefully that changes in future novels.

Overall this was an excellent debut of the world of Mytica, the characters of Cleo, Jonas, Magus, and Lucia, and the magic system that will undoubtedly change the outcome of all future books of the series.

Overall Rating:  4 out of 5 stars. 

Purchase Links

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indigo

_ _ _

And those are my thoughts on Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms #1) by Morgan Rhodes. Have any high fantasy recommendations? Leave your recommendation below and help my TBR grow.


One Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s