7 Books to Read if you Love Harry Potter

Are you sick and tired of books claiming to be the next big Harry Potter phenomenon? Do you have a book sized Harry potter hole in your heart that you haven’t been able to fill? Well, I’m no expert, but the books I’ve compiled on this list have been able to capture a Harry Potter-esk spark that may just be able to curb your appetite for all things magical. Interested to see the books I think can help you get over your post-Potter blues? Keep on reading to find out my thoughts and opinions.

The Lord of the Rings trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien 

The one ring to rule them all.

If you don’t know what The Lord of the Rings trilogy is what rock have you been living under?

The Lord of the Rings is an epic high fantasy series ranging across Middle-earth following elves, dwarves, orcs, humans, and of course hobbits as they weave in and out of the War of the Ring.

With memorable characters, such as Frodo Baggins, Samwise Gamgee, Merry and Pippin, Aragorn, Boromir, Legolas and Gimli, it is no wonder The Lord of the Rings was named Britain’s best-loved novel of all time by the BBC.

Though this novel was written before the Harry Potter series, it is one of those books, like Potter, than can be picked up and enjoyed time and again.

Purchase Links Harper Collins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indigo

The Chronicles of Narnia series by C.S. Lewis 

I have very fond memories of The Chronicles of Narnia series long before I discovered Harry Potter.

I remember hours spent in the car, travelling with my family to camp grounds, and my mother reading Narnia to my sister and I until her voice was hoarse.

Though I was introduced to Narnia before Hogwarts, if you haven’t had the pleasure of reading The Chronicles of Narnia it will absolutely give you feelings to those you experienced when reading about Hogwarts for the first time.

Mostly following the Pevensie children, The Chronicles of Narnia transports readers to the fictional world of Narnia where Aslan the lion reigns over the eclectic cast of characters. Simply find yourself  a wardrobe, a magic horn, or a ship called the Dawn Treader and you too can have adventures.

Purchase Links Harper Collins Children | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indigo

Macbeth by William Shakespeare 

I’m putting Shakespeare on the list because J.K. Rowling herself has stated that she drew inspiration from Macbeth for Harry Potter.

For those unfamiliar with this tragedy, it follows a Scottish general, we’ll call him Macbeth, who receives a prophecy from a trio of witches that one day he will become the King of Scotland.

Much like our favourite dark wizard, Macbeth becomes all consumed in the prophecy presented to him, leading him down a dark road of murder, mayhem, and civil unrest.

There is also a really rad adaptation starring Michael Fassbender that came out last year, so if you don’t like reading Shakespeare, how about partaking in the Bard’s work visually? No? Well, can’t say I didn’t try.

Purchase Links Penguin Classics | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indigo

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children trilogy by Ransom Riggs

Though I’ve only read the first book in the trilogy, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children definitely gave me some Harry Potter vibes.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children follows Jacob Portman as he takes a trip to Wales in order to feel closer to his recently deceased grandfather. Visiting the orphanage in which his grandfather called home during WWII, Jacob discovers the peculiar happenings, the peculiar memories, and the peculiar children that called the orphanage home.

Friendship, magic, and a dastardly villain… what more could a Potter fan ask for?

Purchase Links Quirk Books | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indigo

The Queen of the Tearling trilogy by Erika Johansen

If I haven’t talked about this trilogy enough, here’s one more time.

The Queen of the Tearling tells the story of Kelsea Raleigh as she claims her birthright as Queen of the fictional kingdom of the Tear. Armed with a magical sapphire, Kelsea must gain the trust of her subjects or fall to the mercy of the Red Queen.

Before this novel was even published it was optioned as a movie, with Emma Watson to star, giving it a much needed boost in the fantasy world. After its publication, The Queen of the Tearling has boasted some high profile fans, including Lauren Oliver and Bernard Cornwell, and is set to release its conclusion later this year.

Purchase Links Harper Collins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indigo

Gemma Doyle trilogy by Libba Bray 

Now if you’re a fan of BookTube you may of heard of Libba Bray’s series The Diviners, what you may not know however is this is not Bray’s only historical fiction fantasy series.

The Gemma Doyle trilogy is a historical fiction fantasy series, set in the 1800’s, that revolves around Gemma Doyle and her adventures in Britain at the Spence Academy boarding school.

Surrounded by Ann, Felicity, and Pippa, Gemma learns about her heritage, the magical powers she possesses, and the dark history that consumes Spence Academy.

Girl power is rampant throughout the series, so fans of Ginny, Luna, and Hermione will love this trilogy.

Purchase Links: Ember (Random House)Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indigo

Vicious by V.E. Schwab

If you haven’t read Vicious by V.E. Schwab, do yourself a favour and go pick up a copy.

Vicious follows college roommates Victor and Eli as they develop their senior research project, focusing on the link between adrenaline, near-death experiences, and supernatural powers.

Following a horrible tragedy, former friends turn foes, and all bets are off as to who’s power is stronger than the other.

Basically I found that this was a more mature take on an X-Men type premise, so if you’re down to read about two super powers duking it out in a winner takes all situation, Vicious should be right up your alley.

Purchase Links: MacmillanAmazon | Barnes & Noble | Indigo

And that is my list. I have many more books that I feel fit the criteria of filling the Harry Potter void. Interested to see another list? Leave a comment down below!

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s